OUT Maine Welcomes New Board Members

(Rockland, ME) - OUT Maine welcomed two new board members at its recent April board meeting. Elected by the current board to serve as Directors for three-year terms are Rev. Ralph Moore, Jr. and Rev. Holly Morrison.


Ralph Moore teaches Ethics at the Watershed School in Camden. He has served on the boards of the Camden Conference and the Coastal AIDS Network. He is the retired rector of St. Peter's Episcopal Church in Rockland and lives in Rockland with his wife. Moore has experience in community work, as a volunteer and as a staff person. His motivation begins with the commitment he has to his own gay son and his family’s trans nephew. “I'm grateful for all the supportive people who model hope for them and I want to give what I can this unique service in our community,” says Moore.

Holly Morrison serves as pastor of Phippsburg Congregational Church (UCC), a designated "Open and Affirming" church with a commitment to welcoming LGBTQ people. Holly and her wife also run Tir na nOg Farm, an educational farmstead in Pownal, Maine, where volunteers explore human culture and agriculture in the context of sustainability and resilience. 

One of OUT Maine’s strategic goals for the year ahead is to is to reach a wider net of supporters as the organization offers training for educators and service providers statewide. “We’re delighted to have found both Ralph, with his ties to OUT’s hometown and Holly, with her experience and connections in Cumberland County. With only one board meeting under our belts, it’s clear that they are both strong supporters of OUT Maine and I’m confident that they’ll be instrumental in raising public awareness of OUT Maine around the state,” says Jeanne Dooley, Executive Director.

“We are fortunate to have board members who are dedicated to supporting LGBTQ youth and to improving the experiences of LGBTQ youth in rural Maine,”  said Lucie Bauer, Board President. Moore and Morrison join current board members Lucie Bauer, Ellen Sudow, John D. Adams, Ned Kane, Amy Paine, and Alan Pedersen.